43.4 F
Tuesday, January 31, 2023
HomeBlogNew and Notable41 Anne Arundel Teachers Receive National Board Certification

41 Anne Arundel Teachers Receive National Board Certification

teachersMore than three dozen Anne Arundel County Public Schools (AACPS) educators are among more than 6,200 nationwide to achieve National Board Certified status, the highest teaching credential in the nation, according to data released by the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards.

The county’s 41-member class ranks 13th in the nation. It brings to 314 the number of educators to earn the honor while working in Anne Arundel County, and leaves AACPS second among Maryland school systems. Three members of the class achieved their second certification, renewing their original certification after 10 years.

Everyone knows the incredible dedication and passion that our teachers possess and that they display in our classrooms every day, but the work required to achieve this honor is something that few see,” Superintendent Kevin Maxwell said. 


“National Board Certification is an arduous but rewarding process that allows teachers to reflect on their own practices and methods, and to improve instructional outcomes for all of their children. These teachers deserve an immense amount of credit for the lengths to which they have gone to better themselves and help their students.”

In all, 83 Anne Arundel County teachers sought the certification this year. The 50 percent achievement rate far surpasses the national average of 36 percent. Approximately 4.2 percent of the county’s teachers are now National Board Certified, the second highest percentage in the state of Maryland.

Nationwide, about 3 percent of teachers have achieved National Board Certification. Anne Arundel’s 2011 class successfully completed rigorous assessments with the assistance of a professional development program offered by the school system.

In the last four years, nearly 200 Anne Arundel County teachers have achieved National Board Certified status. More than 80 educators are seeking to earn the distinction in 2011-2012. Anne Arundel County boasts 14 percent of the state’s National Board Certified teachers.

The following AACPS educators achieved National Board Certified status in 2011:

  • Heather Allam, South River High School
  • Raven Bishop, Severn River Middle School
  • Barbara Bollino, Marley Middle School
  • Judith Bonanno, Severna Park High School
  • David Britton, Magothy River Middle School
  • Susan Melton Burg, Freetown Elementary
  • Lori Carter, Advanced Studies & Programs (renewal)
  • Kristi Coopersmith, Windsor Farm
  • Susan Corby, South River High School
  • Rosa Cordua, Rippling Woods Elementary
  • Elizabeth Davidson, George Fox Middle School
  • Tana DeWind, Rippling Woods Elementary
  • Keri Farrish, Central Elementary
  • Amy Fee, Pershing Hill Elementary
  • Brad Hill, Severna Park High School
  • Meredith Holmes, Belvedere Elementary
  • Timothy Johnson, Chesapeake High School
  • Jennifer Keenan, Annapolis Elementary
  • Melissa Kling, Cape St. Claire Elementary
  • Linda Latzlsberger, Crofton Middle School
  • Denise Levitine, Central Office (renewal)
  • Mary Liswell, Piney Orchard Elementary
  • Nikki Levy, Hebron-Harmon Elementary
  • Marie Livingston, South River High School
  • Colleen Maciolek, Chesapeake Bay Middle School
  • Debbie Marcus, Marley Glen Special
  • Mary Ann W. McHenry, Point Pleasant Elementary
  • Judylee Meade, Old Mill Middle South
  • Kristen Morton, Maryland City Elementary
  • Julie Olson, Nantucket Elementary
  • Kathleen O’Neill, Annapolis High School
  • Susan Peregoy, Severn River Middle School
  • Colette Preis, Central Special
  • Shannon Pugh, Division of Curriculum (renewal)
  • Laura Rode, Rippling Woods Elementary
  • Deborah Santos, Tyler Heights Elementary
  • Katrina Schmidt, Jessup Elementary
  • John Trumbule, Odenton Elementary
  • Jennifer Vosburg, Meade Heights Elementary
  • Lisa Whipp, Marley Glen Special
  • Michelle Williams, Wiley H. Bates Middle School

County educators who achieved National Board Certification will be honored at a reception next spring.


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Tips From our Sponsors

Stay Connected


Most Read