Annapolis Police Department 2020 Scholarship Winners Announced

APD Scholarship WInners
Annapolis Police Department 2020 Scholarship Winners

The Annapolis Police Department has announced its Annapolis Police Scholarship Fund winners for 2020. Congratulations to Eva Coleman, Robert A. Dews, Denaye Pritchett, and Alexis Tackney!

Annapolis Police Department scholarships are funded through its Spring Fling fundraising efforts (the event was postponed until 2021), community donations, and a partnership with the local Annapolis Papa John’s Pizza locations. 

For the second year in a row an anonymous donor made a generous donation in memory of those killed in the attack of the Capital Gazette offices in June of 2018: Gerald Fischman, Rob Hiassen, John McNamara, Rebecca Smith, and Wendi Winters.

The scholarship program was established in 2015 to award students from the City of Annapolis with tuition assistance. Students must have a 2.7 GPA, live in the City of Annapolis and demonstrate financial need. 

These scholarships can be applied toward college or trade school tuition. In total, the Annapolis Police Department has awarded scholarships to 17 Annapolis students.

More about the Scholarship Winners for the Class of 2020:

Eva Coleman 

Eva earned a 3.81 GPA at Annapolis High School where she has been an honor roll student every semester of her high school career. She was a member of the Key Club all four years of high school and went on to become its Vice President. Eva also volunteered her time at the Lighthouse Shelter and fundraised for the annual Polar Bear Plunge. She was also given the Summa Cum Laude title upon her graduation.

Eva will attend Denison University where she will major in Biology. Her Biology teacher, Ms. Gummel, stated that “Eva has demonstrated herself as an apt student with a strong drive to help others.”

Robert A. Dews 

Robert earned a 3.4 GPA at Annapolis High School where he made Honor Roll every semester. Mr. Dews was enrolled in the Annapolis High School International Baccalaureate program and was a part of the Robotics team, Production Tech Crew, and the Rotary Interact Club. Robert was also a member of the Annapolis High Navy Junior ROTC program for two years. 

Robert will be attending The University of Maryland Baltimore County School, where he will major in Computer Graphic Design/Animation. Section Chief of Prince George’s County Department of Corrections describes Mr. Dews as a young man with “Strong leadership skills as a mentor/group leader.”

Denaye Pritchett

Denaye earned a 3.60 GPA at Annapolis High school where she was a member of the National Honor Society and made the Honor Roll every semester. In addition to her academic achievements, Denaye was also heavily involved in community service, volunteering for organizations such as the Lighthouse Shelter, the Maryland Food Bank, Hood 2 Good and SADD. She also played volleyball and was a member of the Step Team.

Denaye will be attending Hood College where she plans on majoring in Criminal Justice. The Signature Program Facilitator at Annapolis High School stated that Denaye “respects and values different perspectives and her soft-spoken nature is calming and appealing.”

Alexis Tackney

Alexis earned a 3.72 GPA at St. Mary’s High school where she was an honor roll student since 2016. Alexis dedicated herself to not only academics and athletics and was referred to as a “stellar athlete,” but also to community service. Alexis started coaching sports teams for the St. Mary’s school system in 2016. She was also inducted into the National Honor Society in 2018.

Alexis will attend Washington College and major in English. The Camp Director for Sherwood Forest Boys and Girls Camp states that Alexis is “a strong, outgoing leader in the community.”

Congratulations to this year’s winners!

For more information on the scholarship and the Annapolis Police Department’s program, visit If you’d like to contribute by eating pizza, use the code APDSCHOLAR40 to receive 40% off your order at the Annapolis Papa John’s, which will donate 10% to the fund.