56.9 F
Sunday, September 25, 2022
Home Education School Anne Arundel, Calvert and Prince George's name Teachers of the Year

Anne Arundel, Calvert and Prince George’s name Teachers of the Year

Katrina GriffinW 214x300Katrina Griffin, Anne Arundel County Teacher of the Year.Katrina Griffin, North County High School German teacher, has been named Anne Arundel County Public School Teacher of the Year. She joins teachers in Calvert and Prince George’s counties already named to the honor.

The announcement was made at the end of the Excellence in Education Awards banquet at the BWI Marriott April 25.

Griffin is the first teacher at a school in the North County cluster to win the award since its inception in 1987. Stephanie Lotze, a science teacher at St. Mary’s High School, was named the Independent Schools Teacher of the Year.

Donna Miller, a science teacher at Windy Hill Middle School, was named Calvert County Teacher of the Year earlier this month, and Amanda Espina, a visual arts teacher at Benjamin D. Foulois Creative and Performing Arts Academy, was named the Prince George’s County Teacher of the Year.

Donna Miller’s principal at Windy Hill, James Kurtz, said in a press release, “Donna is a master teacher, and her colleagues recognize her as a valuable resource and leader who is always willing to lend her expertise, knowledge and wisdom. She is a consummate professional, and she cares deeply about her students. In particular, she cares about educating the whole child.”

According to a press release, Anne Arundel County’s Griffin wanted to quit teaching on her third day in 2001 — before her students even arrived — but was talked out of it and has since made an impact at North County. Griffin was named the Northeast Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages’ Teacher of the Year in February, making her one of five teachers from across the country to compete for the national award. She also has been instrumental in helping North County receive the German Center of Excellence designation by the American Association of Teachers of German. The school is the first in Maryland and one of just nine high schools in the nation to earn the distinction.

All of the teachers will go on to compete in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition in the fall.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Tips From our Sponsors

Stay Connected


Most Read