45.2 F
Sunday, January 29, 2023
HomeEducationSchoolAnne Arundel County finalists named for Teacher of the Year

Anne Arundel County finalists named for Teacher of the Year

teacher of year finalists WFive Anne Arundel County Public School teachers and three private school teachers in the county are finalists for the 2015-16 Anne Arundel County Teacher of the Year awards.

Educators from three high schools, one middle school, and one elementary school make up the field of five finalists announced today for the public school Teacher of the Year. The educators will be among 42 top educators to be honored at the 30th annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum on April 25, 2016.

  • The public school finalists, selected from a field of nine semifinalists, are:
  • Carol Bak, a Spanish teacher at Chesapeake High School
  • Katrina Griffin, a German teacher at North County High School
  • Sharon Mattoon, a kindergarten teacher at Solley Elementary School
  • Alexis Pogonowski, an AVID teacher at Southern High School
  • Kathleen Soares, a science teacher at Crofton Middle School

In addition to the public school finalists, the following educators are nominated for the 2016 Independent Schools Teacher of the Year:

  • Melissa Hildt, Archbishop Spalding High School
  • Stephanie Lotze, St. Mary’s High School
  • Gretchen Moran, St. Anne’s School of Annapolis

The banquet is presented annually in partnership by Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce. In addition to outstanding teachers, the banquet also will honor local business and community partners that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefitting AACPS’ nearly 80,000 students.

Superintendent George Arlotto was joined by board members and chamber officials as they surprised the finalists by visiting classrooms with bouquets of flowers.

The finalists will be interviewed by a panel made up of educators, administrators, students, and business leaders. The Public Schools Teacher of the Year will represent Anne Arundel County at the state Teacher of the Year competition later this year.

Tickets for the event are $55 each. For sponsorship information and ticket orders, visit www.aaaccc.org. For other information, please call 410-266-3960.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Tips From our Sponsors

Stay Connected


Most Read