56 nominated for Anne Arundel County Teacher of the Year


AAPSLogoFifty-three public school teachers and three private school teachers have been nominated by their schools and school communities for the honor of the 2014 Anne Arundel County Public and Private School Teacher of the Year.

Semifinalists from the field of 53 public school nominees will be announced next week. From that group, five finalists will be chosen. All of the 56 teachers  nominated will be honored on April 10 when the Anne Arundel County Public Schools and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce celebrate the 28th annual Excellence in Education banquet at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum.

The evening will culminate with the announcements of the 2014 Anne Arundel County Public and Private School Teachers of the Year. The Public School Teacher of the Year will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition.

“We have incredible teachers in front of our children across this county every single day, and it is important that we take time to honor their dedication, passion, and service,” Interim Superintendent Mamie J. Perkins said. “I am very much looking forward to saluting this great group of educators.”