50 F
Wednesday, September 28, 2022
Home Education School Broadneck’s Christina Houstian named AACPS teacher of the year

Broadneck’s Christina Houstian named AACPS teacher of the year

Houstian-Christina-214x300Broadneck High School social studies teacher Christina Houstian has been named the 2013-2014 Anne Arundel County Public Schools Teacher of the Year.

The surprise announcement culminated an evening of celebration at the 28th annual Excellence in Education Awards Thursday, April 10, presented by AACPS and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce, and sponsored by BGE and Comcast.

Erin Kolarik, a math and science teacher at St. Martin’s Lutheran School in Annapolis, was named the 2013-2014 Independent Schools Teacher of the Year.

Houstian is the second Broadneck teacher in the last seven years to win the award and the sixth since the program’s inception in 1986-87. She will now represent county public school teachers as the school system’s nominee for Maryland Teacher of the Year.

Fifty-six educators from public and private schools were recognized during the event. Other finalists for this year’s Public Schools Teacher of the Year honor were: Susan Sheehy, a fourth-grade teacher at Millersville Elementary School; Jennifer Swiech, an AVID teacher at Meade Middle School; and Brad Wray, a social studies teacher at Arundel High School.

The other finalists for this year’s Independent Schools Teacher of the Year were Amy Brunner of Archbishop Spalding High School and Matthew Martelli of St. Mary’s High School.

The evening also included recognition of outstanding business partnerships, with ShopRite winning Business Partner of the Year for its work with Northeast High School and Sunset Elementary School. Also nominated for the Business Partnership awards were: C2 Education; Annapolis Bowl, Greenway Bowl, and Severna Park Lanes; Little White Fashion Truck; and Watershed Stewards Academy.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Tips From our Sponsors

Stay Connected


Most Read