Prince George’s County Students Named Semifinalists in 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program


Prince George’s County Public Schools (PGCPS) students have been named semifinalists in the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program. These scholars have the opportunity to continue in the competition for 8,300 National Merit Scholarship awards, worth more than $34 million, to be awarded next spring.

“Congratulations to these outstanding students,” said Dr. William R. Hite, Jr., Superintendent of Schools. “They are a part of an elite group of students who will have the opportunity to earn this scholarship. This accomplishment demonstrates the rigorous academic programs of Prince George’s County Public Schools.”

The 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists from Eleanor Roosevelt High School include:

  • Steven Cable,
  • Anna Flynn,
  • Maxwell Gollin,
  • Linus Hamilton,
  • Patrick Healey,
  • Lydia Nichols-Russell,
  • Amber Youhouse-Clark

The National Merit Scholarship program was established in 1955. It is a non-profit organization where more than $1.4 million juniors in nearly 22,000 high schools entered the program by taking the 2010 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which serves as an initial screening of program entrants.